Why not subscribe?

Monday, March 14, 2011

Northwestern: the Cubs of college basketball

Of the 73 teams in the six power conferences — the Atlantic Coast, the Big East, the Big Ten, the Big 12, the Pacific-10 and the Southeastern), Northwestern, Oregon State, Rutgers and U.S.F. have the longest N.C.A.A. tournament droughts.

This year’s competition is the 73rd annual N.C.A.A. tournament — and the 73rd consecutive season Northwestern will not participate.

“This has to stop,” Rovell said.

While Northwestern still seeks its first N.C.A.A. appearance, Oregon State has not been in the tournament since 1990. Rutgers has been absent since 1991 and South Florida since 1992.


So another team besides the Cubs has futility far beyond the competition. Note of the four teams, Northwestern has a drought that's over twice as long as any other, and has NEVER been in.

No comments:

Post a Comment